Haapsalu Castle Museum

Lossiplats 3, Haapsalu, Läänemaa www.salm.ee show phone number

score

-

Be the first to review this company Write a review

Lossiplats 3, Haapsalu, Läänemaa www.salm.ee show phone number

Send e-mail

Haapsalu Castle Museum / Description

Facilities
General
WiFi, Access with wheelchair, Parking (free), Seminar and conference room
Services
Catering
Activities
Sightseeing point
Payment method
Card payment, Cash
Open:
In September Mon -Sun 11.00 – 16.00
(Last admission 15.30)

1.05.-31.08. Mon – Sun 10.00-18.00
(Last admission 17.30)

1.09.-30.04. Fri – Sun 11.00- 16.00
(Last admission 15.30)

Haapsalu Castle Grounds are open daily at 7.00-24.00

The Castle in Haapsalu is an architectural pearl dating from the 13th century that used to be the residence of local authorities until the end of the 17th century.
This is the place where Estonia’s most famous ghost – the White Lady – lives.
The main building of the castle hosts a museum that gives an overview of the history of the stronghold and Oesel-Wiek Bishopric, the weaponry used in the medieval and early modern period and the ashlars found in the castle. The most important sights of the museum include the cathedral of the former Oesel-Wiek Bishopric located in the south wing of the castle, which was first mentioned in written records in 1279, and the watchtower now used as a belfry. While in the main fortress, one can enjoy a nice view overlooking Haapsalu and the surrounding sea.
Historical castle grounds have, over the course of time, been turned into park. This is a unique symbiosis of architecture and nature that provides the joy of discovery for both adults and as children. Small visitors can enjoy the playground inspired by the Middle Ages.
Facilities
General
WiFi, Access with wheelchair, Parking (free), Seminar and conference room
Services
Catering
Activities
Sightseeing point
Payment method
Card payment, Cash

Location

Send e-mail

Write a review

Reviews

Be the first to review this company